My top 10 emotional theatre moments

  1. Matilda and Miss Honey cartwheel (Matilda the Musical)

matilda

This is more ‘happy sad’ than upsetting, but it always makes me a bit emotional when Matilda and Miss Honey cartwheel off into the distance, as they had ‘found each other’.

  1. Mufasa’s death (The Lion King)

lion king

I think emotional moments are more intense in a live theatre piece than in a film, so when I saw the Lion King live this was really heartbreaking – even moreso than in the film!

  1. I’d Give my Life for you (Miss Saigon)

give life

The fact that this song foreshadows the tragic ending of Miss Saigon (I’ll come to the finale later!) makes this song hugely significant, as Kim’s love for her son is so evident through the powerful song.

  1. Empty Chairs at Empty Tables (Les Miserables)

empty

The most atmospheric part of this song for me is when the ghosts of the students (and Gavroche) walk on behind Marius, because it clearly shows that Marius has lost all of his friends to the revolution, and his upsetting reaction to this realisation.

  1. All I ask of you reprise (The Phantom of the Opera)

phantom

This is a hugely powerful ending to act 1, especially considering the parallels between this reprise and the earlier song sung by Christine and Raoul. Sympathy for the Phantom is heightened as he sings, suspended above the stage, about his love for Christine.

  1. A Little Fall of Rain (Les Miserables)

fall of rain

As Eponine lies in Marius’ arms, he finally realises her feelings for him before she dies, and the fact that she never finishes singing the final line of the song makes it even more emotional.

  1. The Letter/The Letter reprise (Billy Elliot)

billy

Both of these songs involve Billy’s dead mum coming and ‘speaking’ to him, and the parallels between her and Mrs Wilkinson, his new maternal figure, are so evident through their gorgeous harmonies.

  1. Finale (Miss Saigon)

saigon 2

This is strangely similar to A Little Fall of Rain, and just as sad. When Kim gives her life for her son, Chris realises how much she cared about both him and Tam, and the musical ends with this tragic situation.

  1. The Final Lair/Finale (The Phantom of the Opera)

phantom 2

This is when Christine returns to the Phantom’s lair and hands him back his ring. The softly sung ‘Christine, I love you’ is devastating, and it is clear that Christine does love the Phantom, but they could never be together.

  1. Gavroche’s Death (Les Miserables)

gavroche

This was the first musical theatre moment I nearly cried at, because seeing such a young child die at a battle when he was trying to help is terrible, especially when it could have been prevented. The long note sustained underneath the scene seems to pre-empt the tragedy, and makes it even more atmospheric.

4 thoughts on “My top 10 emotional theatre moments

  1. I agree with you in most of them! Matilda, Miss Saigon and Les Mis are the most emotional musicals for me. I would also include on the list ‘I Dreamed A Dream’. It moves me a lot because it reminds me the love of my mother, like Kim in Miss Saigon. Fantine and her are such a strong characters in musicals, I adore them.

    Like

  2. For me, it will be a tough fight between “For Good” in Wicked, the Final Lair in Phantom and the Transformation scene in Beauty and the Beast. Especially “For Good”… they just stand there and sing a duet. No actions, no complicated staging and blocking, nothing. Pure singing. Brings me to tears every time I hear it. Perhaps that will change as I see more shows. I know people always talk about Les Miz, but I have never cried watching Les Miz.

    Anyway, keep going with these lists, and be sure to check out mine as well! LOL, looks like some shameless advertising, but who would not want more reads on his blog? =D Here’s the page (https://chowkimwan.wordpress.com/personal-ranking-lists/), and just navigate through all my ranking lists. Enjoy, and hope to see more from you soon!

    Like

  3. I saw the Phantom Of The Opera only 3 days ago and have booked two places to see Les Miserables next month. Given I was in tears three times during The Phantom, I can only hope for similar emotions next month…

    Like

Leave a comment